The Association of Regional Centers for Asian Studies

The Association of Regional Centers for Asian Studies (ARCAS) is composed of the 20 regional centers of the Asian Studies Development Program (ASDP), a joint initiative of the East-West Center and the University of Hawaii. ARCAS is a non-profit organization affiliated with ASDP and works closely with ASDP in such initiatives as the development of faculty development workshops and ASDP's annual conferences. However, ARCAS is not itself under the management of ASDP; it is run and financed cooperatively by its member institutions, namely, the regional centers of ASDP.

Mission Statement

The Association of Regional Centers for Asian Studies is committed to promoting the study of Asia and Asian cultures in undergraduate programs at colleges and universities throughout the United States.

The mission of this Association is to provide high quality programs for faculty, administrators, staff, and students at member institutions and other institutions served by the regional centers.  The purpose of these programs is to enhance teaching, learning, and research in Asian studies.

To achieve this mission, the Association will seek to:
  • continue to work closely with the East-West Center and the University of Hawaii in planning and developing projects;
  • develop effective modes of communication to link colleges and universities;
  • develop collaborative strategies that colleges can use to share resources;
  • provide advice and counsel to colleges and universities on implementing models for infusing Asian studies into the curriculum;
  • develop grants to fund institutes, workshops, and seminars on Asia that are jointly sponsored and collaboratively coordinated;
  • develop programs that can serve as models for a variety of different colleges and universities interested in Asian studies;
  • develop non-academic activities and outreach programs to reach the communities our colleges and universities serve.
Executive Board
ASDP Regional Centers & ARCAS Representatives
  • University of Alaska Anchorage
Dr. Paul Dunscomb, Associate Professor of East Asian History
University of Alaska, Anchorage
3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage, Alaska 99508
Email: afped@uaa.alaska.edu
Web: http://www.uaa.alaska.edu/
  • Belmont University
Dr. Ronnie Littlejohn
Department of Philosophy
1900 Belmont Blvd
Nashville, TN 37212
Email: ronnie.littlejohn@belmont.edu
Web: http://www.belmont.edu/
  • Black Hawk College
Dr. Mark Esposito
Department of Social Behavior & Education Studies
6600 34th Ave.
Moline, IL 61265
Email: espositom@bhc.edu
Web: http://www.bhc.edu/
  • University of Central Arkansas
Dr. Nicholas Brasovan
Department of Philosophy and Religion
University of Central Arkansas
201 Donaghey Ave.
Conway, AR 72035
Email: nbrasovan@uca.edu
Web: www.uca.edu/divisions/academic/libart/hwci
  • Central Washington University
Dr. Jeffrey Dippman
Professor of Philosophy
Central Washington University
L & L Bldg., 100T
400 E. Univ. Way
Ellensburg, WA 98926-7553
Email:  dippmanj@cwu.edu
Web: http://www.cwu.edu/
  • College of DuPage
Dr. Keith Krasemann
Professsor of Philosophy and Religious Studies
College of DuPage
425 Fawell Blvd.
Glen Ellyn, IL 60137
Email: Kraseman@cod.edu
Web: http://www.cod.edu/
  • Eckerd College
Dr. Nancy Janus
Professor of Human Development
Eckerd College
4200 54th Ave. S.
St. Petersburg, FL 33711
Email: nancy.janus@gmail.com
Web: http://www.eckerd.edu/
  • Johnson County Community College
Dr. Tom Patterson
Office of International Education
Johnson County Community College
12345 College Blvd
Overland Park, KS 66210
Email: 
tpatte12@jccc.edu
Web: http://www.jccc.net/
  • University of Hawaii Kapiolani
(formerly Kapiolani Community College)
Dr. Joseph Overton
Chair, Honda International Center
4303 Diamond Head Rd
Honolulu, HI 96816
Email: overton@hawaii.edu
Web: http://www.kcc.hawaii.edu/
  • Middlesex Community College
Dr. Dona M. Cady
Dean of International Education
312 Pollard Exchange
Middlesex Community College
Lowell, MA 01852
Email: cadyd@middlesex.mass.edu
Web: https://www.middlesex.mass.edu/
  • Missouri State University
Dr. Weirong Yan Schaefer
Modern and Classical Languages
901 South National Avenue
Springfield, MO 65897
Email: weirongyan@missouristate.edu
Web: http://www.missouristate.edu/
  • Morgan State University
Dr. Joanna Crosby
Philosophy Department
1700 E. Coldspring Lane
Baltimore, MD 21251
Email: jcrosby@jewel.morgan.edu
Alternate Email: joanna_L_crosby@hotmail.com
Web: http://www.morgan.edu/
  • Paradise Valley Community College
Ms. Michele Marion
Director of International Education
18401 North 32nd St
Phoenix, AZ 85032
Email: michele.marion@pvmail.maricopa.edu
Web: http://www.pvc.maricopa.edu/int
  • Community College of Philadelphia
Dr. Fay Beauchamp
Professor of English
1700 Spring Garden St
Philadelphia, PA 19130
Email: fay.beauchamp@gmail.com
Web: http://www.ccp.edu
  • Portland Community College
Ms. Deborah Sipe
Director, Child Development Center
Email: deborah.sipe@pcc.edu
and
Dr. Craig Kolins
Dean of Instruction & Student Development
Email: ckolins@pcc.edu
PO Box 19000
Portland, OR 97280-0990
Web: http://www.pcc.edu
  • University of Redlands
Dr. Robert Y. Eng
Department of History
1200 E. Colton Avenue
Redlands, CA 92373
Email: robert_eng@redlands.edu
Web: http://www.redlands.edu
  • Slippery Rock University
Dr. George P. Brown
Department of Political Science, 209 SWC
1 Morrow Way
Slippery Rock, PA 16057-1326
Email: george.brown@sru.edu
Web: http://www.sru.edu/

  • Trident Technical College
Dr. Katharine Purcell
Department of English
P.O. Box 118067
Charleston, South Carolina 29423-8067
Email: katharine.purcell@tridenttech.edu
Web: http://www.tridenttech.edu/
  • Tulsa Community College
Dr. Ann Marie Malloy
Tulsa Community College
Southeast Campus Liberal Arts College
10300 E. 81st
Tulsa, Oklahoma 74133
Email: amalloy@tulsacc.edu
Web: http://www.tulsacc.edu/